Kimbell named to FDIC Advisory committee on Community Banking

April 02, 2019
Kimbell Kimbell

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) recently announced the selection of six new members to its Advisory Committee on Community Banking, which has been providing advice and recommendations to the FDIC on a broad range of community bank policy and regulatory matters since it was established in 2009. The Advisory Committee members represent a cross-section of community bankers from around the country, including Bruce Kimbell, President and CEO of First Community Bank of the Heartland, of Clinton.

“The Advisory Committee provides key information and input to the FDIC on issues facing community banks,” said FDIC Chairman Jelena McWilliams. “We are fortunate to have such talented and highly respected professionals as a resource. I look forward to working with the Advisory Committee members.”

The Advisory Committee on Community Banking discusses and provides input to the FDIC on a wide variety of topics, including current examination policies and procedures, credit and lending practices, deposit insurance assessments, insurance coverage and regulatory compliance.

Other new members of the Advisory Committee in addition to Kimbell include Dick Beshear, Chairman, President and CEO, First Security Bank and Trust Company, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Keith Epstein, EVP and CEO, Roxboro Savings Bank, Roxboro, N.C.; ; Thomas Leavitt, President and CEO, Northfield Savings Bank, Northfield, Vt.; Lori Maley, President and CEO, Bank of Bird-in-Hand, Bird-in-Hand, Pa.; and Cathy Stuchlik, Chairwoman and President, Clackamas County Bank, Sandy, Ore.

The new members will join the following individuals already serving on the committee: Fred DeBiasi, President and CEO, American Savings Bank, Middletown, Ohio; Christopher Donnelly, President and CEO, Bank of the Prairie, Olathe, Kan.; Asif Dakri, Vice Chairman and CEO, Wallis Bank, Houston, Texas; James J. Edwards, Jr., CEO, United Bank, Zebulon, Ga.; David J. Hanrahan, Sr., former President and CEO, Capital Bank of New Jersey, Vineland, N.J.; Danny J. Kelly, President and CEO, The Hometown Bank of Alabama, Oneonta, Ala.; Kenneth Kelly, Chairman and CEO, First Independence Bank, Detroit, Mich.; Tiffany Baer Paine, President and CEO, Security Bank USA, Bemidji, Minn.; Alan Shettlesworth, President and COO, Main Bank, Albuquerque, N.M.; Joseph W. Turner, President and CEO, Great Southern Bank, Springfield, Mo.; Louise Walker, President and CEO, First Northern Bank, Dixon, Calif.; and Len E. Williams, President and CEO, People’s Utah Bancorp and CEO, People’s Intermountain Bank, American Fork, Utah.

For more information, please visit the Advisory Committee on Community Banking webpage at