So. Fulton’s Bruner is UTM award recipient

June 16, 2020

Three Obion County students received awards from the University of Tennessee at Martin Department of Communications in recognition of departmental achievements for the 2019-20 academic year.

Emma Bruner, of South Fulton, received the M. Sue Kahle Excellence in Leadership Award, given by Dr. Teresa Collard.

Alexis Millsaps, of Union City, Tenn., received the Swafford Public Relations Scholarship, which is awarded to a junior or senior public relations student, and the Dorotha and Robert Norton Scholarship, given to outstanding public speaking or voice and diction students who show uncommon persistence to graduate.

Jasmine Youngblood, also of Union City, received the Tennessee Association of Broadcasters Award, given to an outstanding broadcasting student.

The Department of Communications is housed in the College of Humanities and Fine Arts. For more information about the department, contact Dr. Robert Nanney, chair, at For more information about UT Martin, visit