South Fulton Commissioner candidates file as write-ins

October 16, 2018

Tennessee residents will go to the polls on Nov. 6 for the General Election, with early voting already underway as of Oct. 17.

Locally, in the City of South Fulton’s Municipal Election, no candidate qualified for the City Commissioner’s seat in Ward 2 or Ward 3. Currently, Terry Taylor serves Ward 2 and Tommy Pruett, Ward 3.

On the ballot, space is designated for a Write-In candidate.

According to Renee Kitchen, Obion County Election Commission Deputy, the deadline to submit paper work to have a candidate’s name listed on the ballot was Aug. 16. At that time, no candidate submitted the qualifying paper work for the Ward 2 and 3 Commissioner’s race in South Fulton.

However, Kitchen said the deadline to submit qualifying documents to run as a Write-In candidate was Sept. 17, and by that date, two candidates had submitted the necessary paper work, Taylor, for Ward 2 and Pruett for Ward 3.

Bill Sanderson, Republican party nominee is on the ballot for the Tennessee House of Representatives, District 77; Andy Holt, Republican and Deane Araganbright, Democratic party, are listed on the ballot for the Tennessee House of Representatives, District 76; and in the United States House of Representatives, District 8 race, listed on the ballot are David Kustoff, Republican, Erika Stotts Pearson, Democrate and James Hart, Independent.

In the United States Senate race, Marsha Blackburn, Republican, Phil Bredesen, Democrat and Independents Trudy A. Austin, John Carico, Dean Hill, Kevin Lee McCants, Breton Phillips and Kris L. Todd are listed.

In the Federal and State General Election, candidates for Tennessee’s Governor include Republican Bill Lee and Democrat Karl Dean, as well as Independents Mark CoonRippy Brown, Sherry L. Clark, Justin Cornett, Gabriel Fancher, Sean Bruce Fleming, William Andrew Helmstetter, Cory King, Matthew Koch, Tommy Ray McAnally, Jessie D. McDonald Toney Randall Mitchell, Yvonne Neubert, Alfred Shawn Rapoza, Chad Riden, Roberty Sawyers, Sr., Heater Scott, George Blackswell Smith IV, Jeremy Allen Stephenson, Tracy C. Yaste Tisdale, Mike Toews, Rick Tyler, Vinnie Vineyard, Jaron D. Weidner, Patrick Whitlock, Joe B. Wilmoth and Mark Wright.

For more information, contact the Obion County Election Commission office at 308 Bill Burnett, in Union City, telephone number 731-885-1901. The office is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 12 noon.