HCHS Underclassmen Awards

This content is for subscribers only. Log in or sign up for a free trial below.

HCHS GOVERNOR’S SCHOLARS, UK BOOK AWARD WINNER, U OF L YARMUTH BOOK AWARD WINNER – Hickman County High School students Charity Shelton, Brand Hornback, Riley Barber, Presley Ballantine and Tyler Abernathy were selected for the Governor’s Scholars program, a five week residential summer program for outstanding Kentcky students completing their junior year, as a mission to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of cvic and economic universities. The five weeks are spent on the campus of either Northern Kentucky University, Morehead State or Centre College in Danville, with participants receiving a full paid tuition scholarship for four years if they have the ACT score and GPA required. Barber was also the recipient of teh University of Kentucky Book Award, chosen by the HCHS faculty based on academic record, potential for academic success, leadership and community service. Abernathy was also chosen to receive the U of L Yarmuth Book Award, chosen by HCHS faculty based on academic recored, intellectual curiosity and contributions to school and community. Shelton is also the recipient of the Murray State University Commonwealth Honors Academy, a three week academic, personal and social growth program for students completing their junior year, to earn six college credits, and the opportunity to earn six more senior year, as well as a four year, $2,000 per year MSU Housing Scholarship. (Photo submitted)