Local students WKCTC degree recipients

December 24, 2018

West Kentucky Community and Technical College recognized more than 200 candidates for graduation who participated in its Fall Commencement Ceremony Dec. 10 at the Luther F. Carson Four Rivers Center. More than 1,000 WKCTC students were eligible to receive associate degrees, diplomas or certificates during Fall 2018.

In addition to the candidates for graduation, more than 60 students received nursing pins during the ceremony. WKCTC students Kaycee Cooper Byrd of Murray and Julie Lasters of Grand Rivers, were the student commencement speakers. Ballard County native Morgan Alvey, a field representative for U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, was the featured speaker.

A list of WKCTC’s fall candidates for graduation (listed by counties and credential) follows. Students with one asterisk after their name graduated with distinction with a grade point average of 3.4-3.5 while students with two asterisks graduated with high distinction with a grade point average of 3.6-4.0.

Earning an Associate in Science Degree from Fulton County was Shelby D. Smith.

Earning an Associate in Applied Science Degrees from Fulton County were Nicholas Micah Guess and Jasmine Johnson, and from Hickman County were James Carvis Black, McKenzie L. Hobbs, and Nicholas Hunter. Black and Hobbs had a 3.6-4.0 GPA.

Earning Diplomas were Richard Paul Cameron Jones, from Fulton County. Jones had a 3.4-3.5 GPA.
Earning Certificates were Fulton County residents Akilias Tarique Abbott, Jessica Sue Blodgett, Summer Rhea Brockwell, Alana K. Coffey, Brett Allen Crawford, Chelsea Elizabeth Johnson, Samantha Summer McClure, Hunter Obrien Mitchum, Brandon Russell Morgan, Jacob Spencer Russell, Calvin Joe Shelton, Timothy Logan Simmons, Pyirecia Smith, Dynia L. Vinson, Michael Phillip Vowell, Olivia Selene Wilson, Nicolas Grant Yates, and Ashley Sharee Zwieg.

Also earning certificates were Hickman County residents Tristin Boaz, Courtney Abigail Cagle, Adriann Renee Crider, Amber Fitts, Joseph Shane Green, Benton Griffith, Nathan Shane Harding, Joshua Trey Harper, Becky Hudson, Averee Faith Jewell, Jennifer Diane Knighten, Jordan Ryan Mathis, Jacob Luke Myers, Austin Shane Redwine, Kaitlin Elizabeth Smith, Hayden Todd Spillman, and Kennady Yarbro.