Honors Scholarships presented

May 27, 2022

Three members of the Twin Cities high school graduating classes have been awarded, as recipients of the 2022 Honor Scholarships.

Jayden Padilla and Takyra Taylor, Fulton Independent High School Class of 2022 graduates, and India Copper, a graduate with the South Fulton High School Class of 2022 each received a scholarship in the amount of $800, which will be provided to their college or university of acceptance.

Padilla, the son of Heather Thomas and Daniel Thomas, was the Salutatorian for the FHS Class of 2022. He was the recipient of a Rotary scholarship, achieved Honor Roll status, participated in Upward Bound, math and science clubs and served on the Fulton Parks Board. He plans to attend Murray State University and major in Construction Management.

Taylor is the daughter of Trista Taylor and David Ware, Jr. She had achieved Honor Roll status since her freshman year of high school and has been a member of the basketball team, softball team and volleyball team throughout her four years of high school. She plans to attend the University of Kentucky and major in biology.

Copper is the daughter of Sean Copper and Makisha Caldwell. She plans to attend the University of Memphis, to study Exercise Science, Sport and Movement Sciences.

The Honor Scholarships are scholarships that promote academic excellence.
An award is given to a graduating senior from Fulton City High School and South Fulton High School. The recipients are determined based on the student’s overall grade point average and their ACT exam score.

The Honor Scholarships began as the Black Honor Scholarship Fund.

In 1978, the founder, Susan Elise House, came up with the idea to establish a fund for black children and went to work to make it a reality.

Although it required a lot of hard work and a great deal of time, House made her dream a reality. In 1979, a Board of Trustees was established and the first awards were given. Many people believed the fund would be a passing thing and it wouldn’t last but by the grace of God, support of area churches, community groups, and the Trustees, the fund has been blessed.

From $100 awards in 1979 to $800 grants in 2022, the Honor Scholarship Fund has helped 99 students to attend the school of their choice. This success belongs solely to those who diligently contribute each year.

The Trustees and the 99 past recipients have expressed their gratitude for the generosity of each contribution.

The Trustees currently are Felicia Lightner, Peggy Tribble, Sherry Atkins, Lavossie Johnson, Etta Walker, LaQuita Slayton, Carol Bransford, Stacy Tribble, Austin Ferrell, Susan E. House, Founder/Executive Director, Annie B. Wright, Director Emeritus.