South Fulton voters follow state’s choices for Governor, Senator

by Benita Fuzzell

Unofficial results from Tuesday’s mid-term General Elections show Republican Bill Lee will be the next Governor of Tennessee, garnering 1,234,046 votes across the state, 1062 of those in South Fulton. His opponent, Democrat Karl Dean received 331 votes in South Fulton and 758,152 statewide.

In the United States Senator’s race, Republican Marsha Blackburn recorded 1034 votes in South Fulton, to Democrat Phil Bredesen’s 354 votes in South Fulton. Blackburn recorded 1,136,092 votes across the state, securing a successful run in the race, to Bredesen’s 863,320 statewide.

Republican David Kustoff won the United States House of Representatives race for District 8 in Tennessee, with 150,730 votes, 1048 of those recorded in South Fulton. Democrat Erika Stotts Pearson had 319 votes in South Fulton and 66,140 total votes.

Andy Holt, a Republican received 12120 votes to Democrat Deane

Arganbright’s 4683 in the Tennessee House of Representatives race in District 76. Holt had 1065 votes cast in his favor in South Fulton, Arganbright, 325.

Write-In candidates for South Fulton Commissioner Ward 2, Terry Taylor, and Ward 3, Tommy Pruett, received 19 votes and 8 votes, respectively, in their wards.